Skip to content Skip to footer

Flight of Fancy (for oboe & piano)

Composer: Matthew Orlovich


Flight of Fancy (for oboe and piano) is an energetic and cheerful piece. Its middle movement has a haunting quality by virtue of a chromatically-inflected oboe melody and little updrafts and whirlwinds of tinkling, glockenspiel-like piano figurations. The final section of the piece is characterised by the sound of a ‘slow-to-start’, hand-cranked engine.

Additional information



Composer: Matthew Orlovich | Date of Composition: 2006 | Instrumentation: oboe + piano | Duration: c. 3 minutes | Composed at the invitation of: Reed Music | Publisher: Reed Music | Formats: Printed Edition Score & Parts (RM421 : ISMN 979-0-720083-10-0) / PDF Digital Download Score & Parts (RM421e: ISMN 979-0-720083-10-0) | Edition: 2006



Tools of the Trade | Matthew Orlovich, Australian Composer.Flight of Fancy
(for oboe & piano) comprises three sections, each lasting about a minute or so. The first section kicks off in an energetic and cheerful way with the bright upper registers of both instruments at play. Also evident in the opening section are ideas such as angular melodic lines played in unison, a little harp-like piano accompaniment texture and a contrasting theme fashioned atop a jazzy, dance-inspired bassline.

The middle section of the work is perhaps the more unearthly music of the work. Little updrafts and whirlwinds of tinkling, glockenspiel-like piano figurations add a haunting quality to a chromatically inflected melody, evoking, for me, images of night and a kind of magic.

The final section of the piece – which brings us back to earth with its recapitulation of earlier material – is characterised by the sound of its ‘slow-to-start’, hand-cranked engine. – MO.

Stay in Touch with Our Updates

Join our mailing list to receive special offers and updates about our latest publications

Waratah Music © 2024. All Rights Reserved.